Beginnings


Well. 

Hello.
It’s been a while, hasn’t it? Well, it has been for me, anyway. It feels like an awfully long time since I’ve written anything, but last weekend, to help myself work during the tube strike, I bought a tiny little keyboard for my tiny little iPad, and suddenly I had an urge. And on Sunday, lying on the sofa, watching You’ve Got Mail, I started to type.

(It’s a great film, isn’t it?! So charming and old school and absolutely perfect, in so many ways. Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks are wonderful.)

I stopped writing for many reasons. I felt disconnected from blogging, from writing, from all online things. I still do in many ways, and this won’t be a space for sponsored posts or the like. It will mostly be a place for wittering, thoughts, musings. I’m not really fussed on making it look pretty (I’ll probably change my mind on that quite soon…). I just want an outlet. So here I am.

So much has happened since I last blogged, over on that old space. I’ve fallen in and out and in love. I’ve moved, and will soon move again. And I’ve started a new job, where I met D. Wonderful, charming, complicated D; an American who strolled past my desk on my second day, and stole my heart more or less instantly. Seven months later, we’ve been through some great times, and some incredibly rough times, but we’re here, together, strong, moving forward step by step, taking things as they come. So I imagine you’ll hear titbits about him, though for respect for him and our lives, maybe not everything.  We have to keep some things secret, after all.

But things are good in my life at the moment. I think a while ago, on an old blog, in an old life, I said that I found it hard to write when things were good- that I found misery and heartache easier things to describe and put out in the wild. But now? Now, it feels like time to write again. Not necessarily much, not necessarily often, not necessarily coherent… but something.

I mean, I hardly even READ blogs anymore. What do people blog about in 2017? Do people still blog? Is this even a blog? (The correct answer to that is YES, of course it bloody is, ‘blog’ is a contraction of ‘web log’ so anyone who tries to describe their BLOG as a “lifestyle content destination” or other such tripe is kidding themselves, and making something which is a positive, good thing into a weird thing where it isn’t cool to use the correct term)

So yes. Here I am again. Alive, alert, and raring to go. It’d be lovely if you stuck around (though to be honest, as I can’t be bothered to spend much time reading stats on wordpress, it’s A-OK if you don’t)

3 thoughts on “Beginnings

Leave a Reply

